Advanced Search

Author Topic: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?  (Read 31304 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

October 13, 2010, 04:59:40 AM
Read 31304 times

Offline fizzyman

  • Donator
  • *
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 03:54:31 AM

    • View Profile
Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« on: October 13, 2010, 04:59:40 AM »
When I used to play Quake2 (a really really long time ago) I had a few txt files I'd run through the console to change my name and controls ect. Is there a command to do this in Skulltag? I looked on their site and read the commands but didn't see anything like that.I just want to be able to type like "Load fizzyman.txt" and it would change my name and name colors and skin to what I have typed up in the txt file.

October 13, 2010, 05:20:25 AM
Reply #1

Offline Ivory

  • MM8BDM Extender
  • *********
  • Date Registered: August 25, 2009, 08:17:59 AM

    • View Profile
    • http://www.cutstuff.net/
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2010, 05:20:25 AM »
Not as far as I know, however you can make binds for things such as names.

There's two methods of doing it.
1) The Console
2) Editing the skulltag-user.ini

1) Ingame, open up the console. Default is a tilde (~)
    Secondly, type in
Code: [Select]
bind [key] "[command] [stuff here]"
So for me, let's say I want to bind my Ivory name. It would look like this.
Code: [Select]
bind kp2 "name Ivory"

kp2 meaning Keypad 2. Whenever I press Keypad 2, my name will change to Ivory.


2) Open up your skulltag-user.ini
    Scroll down, or find, [Doom.Bindings]
    Next is the easy part. To make it easier, I'll post an example from my own .ini. I'll be using // for comments.
Code: [Select]
f9=quickload //Default
f10=menu_quit //Default
kp9=name cr[cjTHcr]caRemiliaclScarlet //One of my name binds
kp2=name cdIcqvory //My Ivory Name bind.

So let's examine this.
kp2 //is keypad  2
=  //means what happens when I press keypad 2
name // will change my name.
cdIcqvory // My name. The cletters repersent colors. I can go over that if you like. Ultimately however, pressing KP2 results in my name changing to Ivory

Now this can get much more complicated with other commands, but since you wanted names, this is the quickest way to switch names. Just takes some time to set up. It's extremely versatile, you can automate messages, movements, names, summons, etc. As long as you know the commands, you can bind the commands to make life simpler.

As for what method to use. It's up to you. I would suggest method 1 for learning about binds, since it's faster to test out in game. Once you really get a grasp of binds. Editing the .ini file is so much faster and efficient.

For more information about console commands, check out the skulltag wiki

October 13, 2010, 05:32:19 AM
Reply #2

Offline fizzyman

  • Donator
  • *
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 03:54:31 AM

    • View Profile
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2010, 05:32:19 AM »
Thank you, this will work out splendidly.

October 13, 2010, 06:21:13 PM
Reply #3

Offline fizzyman

  • Donator
  • *
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 03:54:31 AM

    • View Profile
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2010, 06:21:13 PM »
Hey Ivory, I did what you said and something weird happens. I did "bind kp1 name (my name)" and then "bind kp2 skin (my skin)" and instead of changing name or skin it just tells me what my name is and what skin I'm using... what am I doing wrong?

October 13, 2010, 06:31:52 PM
Reply #4

Offline Ivory

  • MM8BDM Extender
  • *********
  • Date Registered: August 25, 2009, 08:17:59 AM

    • View Profile
    • http://www.cutstuff.net/
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2010, 06:31:52 PM »
Sounds like you did it ingame and forgot the quotation marks.

You need the quotation marks around "name namehere" or "skin skinhere". Else wise Skulltag will think your bind just says name, or skin. So it tells you your name and skin.

bind kp1 name (my name)
translates to Skulltag as: when you press kp1 you want the command name.

it should look like this
bind kp1 "name (my name)"

Try that and post back if something is still wrong, but I'm pretty sure that's the problem.

October 13, 2010, 06:55:07 PM
Reply #5

Offline fizzyman

  • Donator
  • *
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 03:54:31 AM

    • View Profile
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2010, 06:55:07 PM »
Ok, now it sorta works. I did "Bind kp1 "name (my name)" but I had the color in there so it was like "Bind kp1 "name cf(my name)" and instead of changing the color of the name it comes out "f(my name)". But at this point I honestly don't think I care since it actually changes names and skins now so thank you.  :D

October 13, 2010, 06:59:51 PM
Reply #6

Offline Ivory

  • MM8BDM Extender
  • *********
  • Date Registered: August 25, 2009, 08:17:59 AM

    • View Profile
    • http://www.cutstuff.net/
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2010, 06:59:51 PM »
Blah. I knew I forgot something. You have to have \cLetter in the console. I'm just used to .ini editing where you only need one.

October 13, 2010, 07:04:49 PM
Reply #7

Offline fizzyman

  • Donator
  • *
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 03:54:31 AM

    • View Profile
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2010, 07:04:49 PM »
Sweet that fixed it, thank you for you help Ivory.

October 13, 2010, 07:19:00 PM
Reply #8

Offline Ivory

  • MM8BDM Extender
  • *********
  • Date Registered: August 25, 2009, 08:17:59 AM

    • View Profile
    • http://www.cutstuff.net/
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2010, 07:19:00 PM »
No Problem, glad to have helped.

October 13, 2010, 07:57:21 PM
Reply #9

Offline TERRORsphere

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: August 22, 2009, 08:45:17 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/user/DoomThroughDoom
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2010, 07:57:21 PM »
If you wanna bind more that 1 thing to 1 key. use the ; character. For example: If I wanted to change my skin and name at the same time, do something like this:
Code: [Select]
bind kp1 "skin flameman; name " A Great Massive Flamer"
The /" is so that it can read spaces as spaces, rather than a different command.

October 13, 2010, 10:14:44 PM
Reply #10

Offline fizzyman

  • Donator
  • *
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 03:54:31 AM

    • View Profile
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2010, 10:14:44 PM »
Awesome, thank you, this is like loading the config files in Quake now.

October 14, 2010, 11:52:49 PM
Reply #11

Offline fizzyman

  • Donator
  • *
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 03:54:31 AM

    • View Profile
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #11 on: October 14, 2010, 11:52:49 PM »
Sorry to double post... Um, whenever I use one of my kp binds the server kicks me for changing my name... does this happen if you change your name manually?

October 15, 2010, 12:29:33 AM
Reply #12

Offline Ivory

  • MM8BDM Extender
  • *********
  • Date Registered: August 25, 2009, 08:17:59 AM

    • View Profile
    • http://www.cutstuff.net/
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2010, 12:29:33 AM »
Which Server? Is it a specific one, or is it any server?

October 15, 2010, 01:02:44 AM
Reply #13

Offline fizzyman

  • Donator
  • *
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 03:54:31 AM

    • View Profile
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #13 on: October 15, 2010, 01:02:44 AM »
It was Yellow Devil's server earlier this afternoon.

EDIT:
I haven't tried it again since I figured it would just happen again... maybe i need to put this in bugs.

October 15, 2010, 01:10:14 AM
Reply #14

Offline Ivory

  • MM8BDM Extender
  • *********
  • Date Registered: August 25, 2009, 08:17:59 AM

    • View Profile
    • http://www.cutstuff.net/
Re: Can you load a config file in Skulltag?
« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2010, 01:10:14 AM »
Can you try it again on a different server? I'd like to know before accessing the problem.