Advanced Search

Author Topic: Mega Man: Redux  (Read 3603 times)

April 09, 2015, 03:00:49 PM
Read 3603 times

Offline Cheeyev

• Standard Member
  • Date Registered: April 02, 2015, 09:39:35 PM

• View Profile
Mega Man: Redux
« on: April 09, 2015, 03:00:49 PM »
So I decided to make a new map-pack, or at least a demo of one, featuring Mega Man stages remade in new styles using graphics from Wily Wars, devamped to NES style. Unfortunately, as I'm inserting new graphics, it's going to be a hard trip to make these maps, as well as make new map layouts. I'm only relatively new to Doom Builder 2, so I don't know more advance stuff, like how to offset floor graphics, proper use of tags, animation, floating sectors separated from the top ceiling to the bottom floor, etc etc. I started with Metal Man's stage, and so far, this is how it's going:
(click to show/hide)
You can download the current WAD for this stage here. Any criticism or help for me?

April 09, 2015, 03:38:40 PM
Reply #1

Offline Rozark

• MM8BDM Extender

• Mr. Explorer
  • Date Registered: August 28, 2011, 04:46:04 PM

• View Profile
    • Rozark #0873
Just the usual first map experience
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2015, 03:38:40 PM »
Textures are cut/used incorrectly, overall aesthetic is bland, weapon tokens too close to each other, pointless metal crusher(?) off to the side, un-needed height variation next to super adaptor (An already cramped room), ramps in locations where walkable stairs would easily be enough, and lack of ceiling variation.

I'd recommend to take a look at how the core (or certain map packs) does spacing and variation to further improve yourself.
Oh, and using textures correctly. a 64x64 texture is meant for a 64x64 area, not a 46x89 area.

There's quite a lot just screenshots can tell; people don't give them enough credit.

April 09, 2015, 03:40:54 PM
Reply #2

Offline Cheeyev

• Standard Member
  • Date Registered: April 02, 2015, 09:39:35 PM

• View Profile