Advanced Search

Author Topic: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum 3.0!  (Read 5544 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

April 19, 2017, 01:26:39 PM
Read 5544 times

Offline CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • :dozercool:

  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://cutstuff.net
MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum 3.0!
« on: April 19, 2017, 01:26:39 PM »
Greetings!

Mega Man 8-bit Deathmatch V5B is currently using a beta build of Zandronum (the engine MM8BDM uses). We have ensured the beta build is stable enough for V5B's release, although there may be some remaining non-gamebreaking bugs left. Feel free to report anything you find in the bugs forum!

When you download MM8BDM from Cutstuff.net (this page), it will always be packaged with the latest version of the Zandronum beta. If a new one is released but you have MM8BDM V5B already, you can find the latest Zandronum beta from here under Development Builds. You should download this and extract it to your MM8BDM folder if you are getting incorrect version errors when connecting to servers.

TSPG (the service hosting most played MM8BDM servers) are now forcefully running a beta version of Zandronum. You can find instructions on how to join these servers via Doomseeker below.

Spoiler for Hiden:


Check "Testing Releases" and set a directory to store them (your mm8bdm folder is a good location). Now when you try to join a server running the beta, you will be prompted to download the beta. After doing so you should be able to join any server running the beta. You skins folder will not be copied across so you may have to do that manually.

Please post here if you have any questions regarding Zandronum 3.0 and MM8BDM!

May 21, 2017, 12:43:49 PM
Reply #1

JamesBrad606@gmail.com

  • Guest
Re: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum Beta
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2017, 12:43:49 PM »
Please tell the date for mm8bdm v5b. I am really excited for it!  :)

May 21, 2017, 02:57:48 PM
Reply #2

Offline CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • :dozercool:

  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://cutstuff.net
Re: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum Beta
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2017, 02:57:48 PM »
22nd of May, which means tomorrow!

June 19, 2017, 01:25:06 PM
Reply #3

Offline CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • :dozercool:

  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://cutstuff.net
Re: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum Beta
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2017, 01:25:06 PM »
A new version of Zandronum is out! Most servers will be running it so you will need to download it to play. If you are using Doomseeker, it will download it for you upon joining a server.

You can manually download it from here: http://zandronum.com/download#betas

July 08, 2017, 04:16:08 PM
Reply #4

Offline Goomba98

  • Standard Member

  • Date Registered: August 20, 2013, 01:26:26 AM

    • View Profile
Re: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum Beta
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2017, 04:16:08 PM »
Where can I report bugs that I think are Zandronum's fault and not MM8BDM?

July 08, 2017, 08:32:56 PM
Reply #5

Offline CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • :dozercool:

  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://cutstuff.net

July 09, 2017, 09:54:28 PM
Reply #6

Offline Goomba98

  • Standard Member

  • Date Registered: August 20, 2013, 01:26:26 AM

    • View Profile
Re: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum Beta
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2017, 09:54:28 PM »
How would I tell them that their CAPTCHA is broken?

July 13, 2017, 03:40:43 PM
Reply #7

Offline CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • :dozercool:

  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://cutstuff.net
Re: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum Beta
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2017, 03:40:43 PM »
I guess the forum? Or tell me what the zandronum issue is and I can help diagnose it.

July 14, 2017, 04:50:57 PM
Reply #8

Offline Goomba98

  • Standard Member

  • Date Registered: August 20, 2013, 01:26:26 AM

    • View Profile
Re: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum Beta
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2017, 04:50:57 PM »
I can open up the overhead map view with M, but I can't close it.

August 17, 2017, 01:27:59 AM
Reply #9

Offline Withered

  • Standard Member

  • just another brazilian

  • Date Registered: August 15, 2017, 07:01:30 PM

    • View Profile
Re: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum Beta
« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2017, 01:27:59 AM »
Hi everyone .... I do not know if this is the right place to give ideas about the game but I was thinking of a way to say this ... (because I am Brazilian and I have a little difficulty when writing in English) then. ..... would it be possible to do a night theme for Dr.Light's lab? ..... I even thought about it, it would even be nice to complement with a calm song to combine .. of course it depends on your approval ..... well it's just an idea that went through my head ........... thanks for the attention

August 27, 2017, 08:43:54 AM
Reply #10

Offline BricePi

  • Standard Member

  • Date Registered: August 17, 2017, 01:24:49 PM

    • View Profile
Re: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum Beta
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2017, 08:43:54 AM »
I can open up the overhead map view with the vigfx review but I can't close it.

Same thing here Goomba! Are you still having this issue?

August 27, 2017, 10:00:26 AM
Reply #11

Offline CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • :dozercool:

  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://cutstuff.net
Re: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum Beta
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2017, 10:00:26 AM »
Strange. Try assigning it to a different button in the customize controls menu.

August 27, 2017, 03:54:54 PM
Reply #12

Offline Thunderono

  • MM8BDM MM9 Contributor

  • The Treaded Treasury

  • ****
  • Date Registered: December 04, 2010, 11:20:27 PM

    • View Profile
    • KHAN
Re: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum Beta
« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2017, 03:54:54 PM »
I remember having this issue.  It happens because the newer versions of zandronum have a control in the map that's also bound to M (I think it's "Set mark"), so if your automap key is M as well it locks you out of closing it.  Can be fixed by going into Options > Advanced Options > Automap Options > Customize Map Controls and rebinding the control.

September 07, 2017, 09:01:16 PM
Reply #13

Offline CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • :dozercool:

  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://cutstuff.net
Re: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum Beta
« Reply #13 on: September 07, 2017, 09:01:16 PM »
Update, 3.0 is finally out! You may need to manually download it from here and point your doomseeker config to it: https://zandronum.com/downloads/zandronum3.0-win32-base.zip

MM8BDM V5C will launch with this version packaged in so you won't need to worry about this in the future. For now though, go ahead and extract the contents of the above zip into your mm8bdm directory to update.

December 05, 2017, 10:20:11 PM
Reply #14

Offline Endymion

  • Standard Member

  • Master Magician

  • Date Registered: February 26, 2015, 03:18:18 PM

    • View Profile
Re: MM8BDM V5B using Zandronum 3.0!
« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2017, 10:20:11 PM »
I didn't wanted to create a topic for just a single question I hope it isn't probelm if I asking this here.

In Zandronum 3.0 is it possible to add multiple bots with a single command? Like "addbot 8" for example to generate 8 random bots. Is something like that exist in this engine? :)


 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Note: this post will not display until it's been approved by a moderator.
Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
What is the name of the third link at the very top of this page?: