Advanced Search

Author Topic: [TUTORIAL] Importing new textures into MM8BDM  (Read 17050 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

January 20, 2012, 08:19:20 PM
Reply #30

Offline BiscuitSlash

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • *
  • Date Registered: November 20, 2010, 12:49:25 PM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Importing new textures into MM8BDM
« Reply #30 on: January 20, 2012, 08:19:20 PM »
I quickly need quick help with something.

This texture is 96x48, and it is the only texture I can choose for my map.

Quote from: "CutmanMike"
Make sure the image is to the power of 2. Textures in Doom MUST obey this rule or they will get scewed in certain situations (especially for software users). Textures will usually be be 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512 or 1024 pixels high/wide, meaning they can be rectangular.
Is there any way I can make this tile fit that rule? I can't seem to arrange it into a looping power of 2 texture size.

January 20, 2012, 08:57:01 PM
Reply #31

Offline Korby

  • Global Moderator

  • Benvenuto nella room italiana!

  • ************
  • Date Registered: March 04, 2010, 03:36:02 AM

    • View Profile
    • Korby Games
Re: [TUTORIAL] Importing new textures into MM8BDM
« Reply #31 on: January 20, 2012, 08:57:01 PM »
Not sure why that's the "only texture you can use" but 48x48 might be fine, so you could probably just use that.

January 21, 2012, 05:18:59 AM
Reply #32

Offline NemZ

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • ****
  • Date Registered: October 13, 2010, 03:00:53 PM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Importing new textures into MM8BDM
« Reply #32 on: January 21, 2012, 05:18:59 AM »
That's twice as wide as it needs to be to tile perfectly, but it looks slightly off-center.  Make sure to crop it so that it breaks in the middle of a gap in one row of the bricks, otherwise you'll have slightly jagged edges at corners.

January 21, 2012, 01:02:20 PM
Reply #33

Offline BiscuitSlash

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • *
  • Date Registered: November 20, 2010, 12:49:25 PM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Importing new textures into MM8BDM
« Reply #33 on: January 21, 2012, 01:02:20 PM »
Ahh, how did I not notice that....

I'l change it to 48x48, but when using that one that I tried....
Spoiler for Hiden:
Yeah, I think it needs to follow that power of 2 rule. The wall textures look a bit weird and the floor textures look unexplainably scrambled.

EDIT: Don't worry, I've found some textures that suit what I'm aiming for much better and they are in 32x32 format.

June 30, 2012, 09:42:06 PM
Reply #34

Offline Pikmin747

  • Standard Member

  • Date Registered: May 13, 2011, 11:58:49 PM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Importing new textures into MM8BDM
« Reply #34 on: June 30, 2012, 09:42:06 PM »
This may not be the place to ask butů

How can I give slopes different textures?

December 30, 2012, 04:19:44 AM
Reply #35

Offline Knux

  • Standard Member

  • *
  • Date Registered: September 04, 2009, 06:56:01 AM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Importing new textures into MM8BDM
« Reply #35 on: December 30, 2012, 04:19:44 AM »
I don't know if someone will come to my aid here, but I'm desperate.

Quote
  XScale 0.5 // Used to tell Doom to scale the textures up, do not change!
   YScale 0.5 // Same as above
And then I changed it to 0.0 because the textures I have are big enough. And everything crashes. Isn't there a way to keep them in the size they are? Do I really need to double it!?

December 30, 2012, 04:49:51 AM
Reply #36

Offline Ivory

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • ********
  • Date Registered: August 25, 2009, 08:17:59 AM

    • View Profile
    • http://www.cutstuff.net/
Re: [TUTORIAL] Importing new textures into MM8BDM
« Reply #36 on: December 30, 2012, 04:49:51 AM »
Just omit the scales entirely from the texture definition.

July 30, 2016, 04:28:49 PM
Reply #37

Offline TheRealRoyale

  • Standard Member

  • MOGMOGYUMMOGMOGMOG

  • Date Registered: June 11, 2016, 04:58:20 PM

    • View Profile
    • dat boi
*my dad has a kingler flashbacks
« Reply #37 on: July 30, 2016, 04:28:49 PM »
How do i make animated tiles, like a conveyer belt (for solar man's stage, i want to contribute to v6)?

July 30, 2016, 08:03:05 PM
Reply #38

Offline fortegigasgospel

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • **
  • Date Registered: July 31, 2011, 09:55:05 PM

    • View Profile
Re: *my dad has a kingler flashbacks
« Reply #38 on: July 30, 2016, 08:03:05 PM »
Quote from: "TheRealRoyale"
How do i make animated tiles, like a conveyer belt (for solar man's stage, i want to contribute to v6)?
Hope this helps, obviously set it up to fit your map codes, change the tics and test what works best, the highlighted section on the bottom is the texture names for reference of where I'm fetching them from. If you need more help then this I'll go into better detail.


 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Note: this post will not display until it's been approved by a moderator.
Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
Who is the character to the right of the Cutstuff Forums logo above? (in lowercase, no spaces):