Advanced Search

Author Topic: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?  (Read 107823 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

January 21, 2011, 01:01:12 AM
Read 107823 times

Offline Messatsu

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • ....

  • *****
  • Date Registered: November 10, 2010, 04:06:39 PM

    • View Profile
How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« on: January 21, 2011, 01:01:12 AM »
.

January 21, 2011, 01:35:19 AM
Reply #1

Offline RenegadeX5

  • Standard Member

  • Date Registered: October 22, 2010, 04:42:03 AM

    • View Profile
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2011, 01:35:19 AM »
I'd suggest looking at Centaur-Man's map. Other than that I have no idea. Maybe set up a box where it's set to low gravity where ya WANT low gravity and just make a 'phantom wall' with water settings?

January 21, 2011, 02:28:03 AM
Reply #2

Offline Messatsu

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • ....

  • *****
  • Date Registered: November 10, 2010, 04:06:39 PM

    • View Profile
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2011, 02:28:03 AM »
Sorry, I should clarify the subject.

This is for people to provide answers to common(ish) questions.  I've gotten asked the question of how to do underwater before and rather than say "go look at ice man's level", I can make a small map with only the underwater element and say look at this instead.  It's much easier to play around with something if that's the only item in a map.  The link I provided is the ANSWER for the question posed.  I will adjust my first post to reflect this.

January 21, 2011, 07:41:36 PM
Reply #3

Offline Kshakas

  • Standard Member

  • Date Registered: January 16, 2011, 08:08:14 PM

    • View Profile
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2011, 07:41:36 PM »
Excellent idea Messatsu.
So how do you make conveyor belts..i think its called, having a mind melt atm.

January 21, 2011, 07:43:03 PM
Reply #4

Offline Max

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • Friendly neighbourhood Zangoose lover

  • ***********
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 08:10:13 PM

    • View Profile
    • ??
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2011, 07:43:03 PM »
Quote from: "Kshakas"
Excellent idea Messatsu.
So how do you make conveyor belts..i think its called, having a mind melt atm.

Special properties, Carry strong in the direction you need.

January 21, 2011, 10:30:08 PM
Reply #5

Offline Messatsu

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • ....

  • *****
  • Date Registered: November 10, 2010, 04:06:39 PM

    • View Profile
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2011, 10:30:08 PM »
Quote from: "Kshakas"
Excellent idea Messatsu.
So how do you make conveyor belts..i think its called, having a mind melt atm.
Here's how Metal Man does it.

http://www.mediafire.com/?btdkh3tw3f332wy

January 22, 2011, 01:12:25 AM
Reply #6

Offline Kshakas

  • Standard Member

  • Date Registered: January 16, 2011, 08:08:14 PM

    • View Profile
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2011, 01:12:25 AM »
Very nice, next question  :D how does one make mirrors, like the one in dr lights lab.

January 22, 2011, 05:01:06 AM
Reply #7

Offline Messatsu

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • ....

  • *****
  • Date Registered: November 10, 2010, 04:06:39 PM

    • View Profile
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2011, 05:01:06 AM »
Mirrors are just a linedef action.  Only restriction is that they MUST be on a single sided linedef.

http://www.mediafire.com/?529rnr9oo33b22s

January 22, 2011, 04:41:04 PM
Reply #8

Offline Galaxy Sisbro

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • **
  • Date Registered: December 18, 2010, 05:04:22 PM

    • View Profile
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2011, 04:41:04 PM »
Whao, good thread Messatsu!!!
I have one But a very difficult question:

How i can do 2 floors? Like Ivory Map ICTF03, or sniper Joe challenge. And also: How i can do translucid Floors?

And thanks for the maps, now i have more inspiration for new maps.

January 22, 2011, 10:59:37 PM
Reply #9

Offline Messatsu

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • ....

  • *****
  • Date Registered: November 10, 2010, 04:06:39 PM

    • View Profile
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2011, 10:59:37 PM »
Alrighty, I can show the transparent floors.  The two story trick is basically the exact same thing, but just implemented differently. (As far as I can tell.  Anyone can correct me if I'm wrong as this is the first time I've seen it.)

http://www.mediafire.com/?ekn3khebprgb6rx

January 23, 2011, 01:23:05 AM
Reply #10

Offline SickSadWorld

  • MM8BDM MM8 Contributor

  • ****
  • Date Registered: December 03, 2010, 07:35:28 AM

    • View Profile
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2011, 01:23:05 AM »
How do I make sector-above-sector that allows free interaction between the upper and lower sectors!

January 23, 2011, 01:47:14 AM
Reply #11

Offline TERRORsphere

  • MM8BDM Contributor

  • ****
  • Date Registered: August 22, 2009, 08:45:17 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/user/DoomThroughDoom
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2011, 01:47:14 AM »
Impossible unless you do weird shit with teleports.

January 23, 2011, 02:35:42 AM
Reply #12

Offline MagnetMan497

  • Standard Member

  • Date Registered: November 13, 2010, 04:48:53 PM

    • View Profile
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2011, 02:35:42 AM »
How do I make a curved sector?

January 23, 2011, 03:51:49 AM
Reply #13

Offline Messatsu

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • ....

  • *****
  • Date Registered: November 10, 2010, 04:06:39 PM

    • View Profile
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2011, 03:51:49 AM »
This can't really be demonstrated in a map.  There's a function in Doom Builder called Curve Linedef.

January 23, 2011, 03:52:08 AM
Reply #14

Offline TERRORsphere

  • MM8BDM Contributor

  • ****
  • Date Registered: August 22, 2009, 08:45:17 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/user/DoomThroughDoom
Re: How do "I" do THAT in Doom Builder?
« Reply #14 on: January 23, 2011, 03:52:08 AM »
Spoiler for Hiden:


 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Note: this post will not display until it's been approved by a moderator.
Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
What is the name of the third link at the very top of this page?: