Advanced Search

Author Topic: I need help with an actor.  (Read 1829 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

August 09, 2016, 09:36:46 AM
Read 1829 times

Offline PotatoStrike

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: March 12, 2014, 04:29:39 PM

    • View Profile
I need help with an actor.
« on: August 09, 2016, 09:36:46 AM »
I tried to make an actor: it's meant to be a spike-like actor. I copied Bubble Man's Spiney code and replaced everything I needed. This is what I wrote to make the actor:

Code: [Select]
actor MercurySpike 11714
{
//$Category MM8BDM-Interactive Props
+DONTBLAST
+NOGRAVITY
+THRUGHOST
Height 16
Radius 16
scale 2.5
states
{
Spawn:
TNT1 A 0
TNT1 A 1 A_SpawnItemEx("SpikeDamager")
goto Graphic
Graphic:
MERS A -1
stop
}
}

Then, I added this resource to a map and I see that it was indeed included in the MM8BDM Interactive Props, but, when I want to test it, there is no texture: look at this http://imgur.com/a/hCAs9

Can someone help me with this, please?

EDIT: Nevermind, it was just something about the sprite slot limit: 50000 is too much, now changed to 11714. Now there is a problem with the texture, it's missing.

August 09, 2016, 09:57:21 AM
Reply #1

Offline Yoshiatom

  • Standard Member

  • Procrastination Woman
  • Date Registered: May 29, 2016, 07:59:25 PM

    • View Profile
    • Check out the award-winning COP MARIO today!
Re: I need help with an actor.
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2016, 09:57:21 AM »
Code: [Select]
actor MercurySpike 50000
Code: [Select]
DoomEdNum must be in the range [-1,32767]
The DoomEdNum of your actor is going over the maximum allowed by Zandronum. Just set it to something that doesn't conflict with the standard editor numbers or MM8BDM's actors and it should be fine.

August 09, 2016, 12:06:55 PM
Reply #2

Offline PotatoStrike

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: March 12, 2014, 04:29:39 PM

    • View Profile
Re: I need help with an actor.
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2016, 12:06:55 PM »
Thank you! Now I just need help with the texture and how I actually can apply it to the actor...

August 09, 2016, 12:40:05 PM
Reply #3

Offline Gummywormz

  • Standard Member

  • Air Man Tile Enthusiast
  • Date Registered: December 23, 2010, 01:05:44 AM

    • View Profile
    • Github Page
Re: I need help with an actor.
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2016, 12:40:05 PM »
If its in a WAD file, make sure the sprite is aligned and between SS_START and SS_END tags.

August 09, 2016, 12:50:37 PM
Reply #4

Offline PotatoStrike

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: March 12, 2014, 04:29:39 PM

    • View Profile
Re: I need help with an actor.
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2016, 12:50:37 PM »
I have nothing like SS_START and SS_END in my file...
I mean, I have a texture for the spike (I named it MERSA0) and I put "MERS A -1" at line 17... This is the only problem I have right now: the texture didn't apply.

August 09, 2016, 01:16:01 PM
Reply #5

Offline Gummywormz

  • Standard Member

  • Air Man Tile Enthusiast
  • Date Registered: December 23, 2010, 01:05:44 AM

    • View Profile
    • Github Page
Re: I need help with an actor.
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2016, 01:16:01 PM »
You need to put it in between tags in a wad file. This is how the engine determines what kind of file it is since there are no file extensions or folders in a WAD archive. Either put it in between the tags, or move the wad to a pk3 and put it in a sprites folder.