Advanced Search

Author Topic: The_Broker Blizzard Man skin "fix"  (Read 3649 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

November 14, 2010, 11:21:18 PM
Read 3649 times

Offline The_Broker

  • Global Moderator

  • May the reunion begin soon!
  • ****
  • Date Registered: October 04, 2010, 07:40:06 PM

    • View Profile
The_Broker Blizzard Man skin "fix"
« on: November 14, 2010, 11:21:18 PM »
Released with Brotoad's seal of Approval(TM) I am pleased to present the "fixed" Blizzard Man!

http://www.mediafire.com/?j6daju9qfxt6n6x
<Old<New

I'll get some better pictures later on.

Just extract the PK3 and place it in your skins folder. The best part about this fixed skin is the fact that you can see it whenever people are using the normal Blizzard Man skin. Enjoy!

Changelog:
(click to show/hide)

November 14, 2010, 11:22:38 PM
Reply #1

Offline brotoad

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ******
  • Date Registered: February 25, 2010, 01:33:13 AM

    • View Profile
    • http://brotoad.tumblr.com/
Re: The_Broker Blizzard Man skin "fix"
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2010, 11:22:38 PM »
official brotoad seal of approval! he ain't no snowman thief he a true playa!

November 14, 2010, 11:28:54 PM
Reply #2

Offline Wil

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: October 11, 2010, 02:35:59 AM

    • View Profile
Re: The_Broker Blizzard Man skin "fix"
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2010, 11:28:54 PM »
what's fixed

November 14, 2010, 11:33:51 PM
Reply #3

Offline RainsLikeSnow

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: October 11, 2010, 12:40:55 AM

    • View Profile
Re: The_Broker Blizzard Man skin "fix"
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2010, 11:33:51 PM »
YAY I am fixed!!!

November 14, 2010, 11:35:14 PM
Reply #4

Offline The_Broker

  • Global Moderator

  • May the reunion begin soon!
  • ****
  • Date Registered: October 04, 2010, 07:40:06 PM

    • View Profile
Re: The_Broker Blizzard Man skin "fix"
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2010, 11:35:14 PM »
Added old sprite picture and brief changelog.

November 15, 2010, 08:05:12 AM
Reply #5

Offline Joseph Collins

  • MM8BDM Contributor

  • Lv. 33 Pogo Fan
  • *
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 04:47:35 AM

    • View Profile
    • http://josephlithius.tumblr.com
Re: The_Broker Blizzard Man skin "fix"
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2010, 08:05:12 AM »
This works as intended.  ...sort of.

What this actually does is it renames the existing BlizzardMan skin to "skin###" and adds a new BlizzardMan skin in with the other custom skins.  Problem being, I can't figure out a way to make it just override the existing BlizzardMan sprites, rather than make a brand new skin altogether.  I've tried everything I could think to do with PWAD/PK3 files, but nothing seems to work...  The only result I ended up getting was that I ended up overriding the BLIZ first-person weapon frames instead of the skin frames. (And incidentally, I can't even find the weapon frames!  Those things are extremely well hidden...)

This is pretty frustrating.  I like things to work a very specific way, and if there's a lot of repeated patch names...as there seems to be...then I can't get it to work because I don't know how to work around repeated patch names such a "BLIZA1" or "BALLB1".

November 15, 2010, 01:16:12 PM
Reply #6

Offline Blueiscooltoo

  • MM8BDM Extender
  • **
  • Date Registered: October 08, 2010, 12:19:05 PM

    • View Profile
Re: The_Broker Blizzard Man skin "fix"
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2010, 01:16:12 PM »
You could just edit the PK3 and replace the current blizzardman skin with this one... That's what I would have done.

November 15, 2010, 03:49:09 PM
Reply #7

Offline The_Broker

  • Global Moderator

  • May the reunion begin soon!
  • ****
  • Date Registered: October 04, 2010, 07:40:06 PM

    • View Profile
Re: The_Broker Blizzard Man skin "fix"
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2010, 03:49:09 PM »
I'd have loved to have this skin when placed actually replace the Blizzard Man default skin and not just rename it. But I think placing it in the main PK3 would be a hassle due to having to do it every single time the game receives an update.

This skin almost became official too. When I had made the "fixed" Dive Man skin and gave it to CutmanMike, he said he would have added the Blizzard Man skin as well if I could convince FuPoo to allow it in. FuPoo declined and thus, here we are.

November 20, 2010, 08:18:53 PM
Reply #8

Offline The_Broker

  • Global Moderator

  • May the reunion begin soon!
  • ****
  • Date Registered: October 04, 2010, 07:40:06 PM

    • View Profile
Re: The_Broker Blizzard Man skin "fix"
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2010, 08:18:53 PM »
I have fixed a small error in the D1 sprite. Re-download it and replace the old PK3.

In other news, I have three more fixed skins that are only awaiting approval before I release them here. Clawgrip's Centaur Man and Crystal Man as well as Pippin's Wind Man. Unfortunately I am unable to establish contact with them. If anybody has contact with them, could you do me a favor and ask if they are alright with me releasing fixed versions of their skins? Thank you.