Advanced Search

Author Topic: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)  (Read 99450 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

October 11, 2010, 12:33:40 AM
Read 99450 times

Online CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
[TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« on: October 11, 2010, 12:33:40 AM »
This tutorial is out of date (and imageshack ate all my tutorial images :( )

Check out a more updated tutorial here!

(click to show/hide)

October 11, 2010, 01:35:06 AM
Reply #1

Offline Mr. X

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 07:05:48 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://mrxsrr.blogspot.com
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2010, 01:35:06 AM »
Skulltag won't let me test the stage.  It just brings me to "Find your Doom2 wad file" and MM8BDM won't work.  Also how would we use a server with our custom stages?

October 11, 2010, 02:37:39 AM
Reply #2

Offline RainsLikeSnow

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: October 11, 2010, 12:40:55 AM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2010, 02:37:39 AM »
can someone come up with a way to host with these

October 11, 2010, 03:17:47 AM
Reply #3

Offline Mr. X

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 07:05:48 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://mrxsrr.blogspot.com
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2010, 03:17:47 AM »
Thanks to Tornado, I've found out that you can put stages in the skins folder and have them appear in game.  However, that doesn't allow custom music and I have a feeling that's not the right way to do it.

P.S. - I've finished updating my maps and will release them as soon as I know how the correct way to put them in game.

October 11, 2010, 08:28:33 AM
Reply #4

Online CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2010, 08:28:33 AM »
The launcher needs updating, but for now you can do this:

Go to the host tab.
Under custom parameters put the following: -file whatever.wad
whatever being the name of the wadfile. Make sure it's in the same folder or you may have to put the whole path to the file.

October 11, 2010, 03:46:14 PM
Reply #5

Offline BlaXun

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 10:08:30 AM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2010, 03:46:14 PM »
Skulltag is asking me for my doom directory...but I dont have doom...I simply want to test with the MM8BDM game.

How can I solve this?

Edit:

I can load the map when placing it in the skins folder....but I get a "unknown texture sky1" bug...but my room only has about 10 walls and I never even used such a texture :/

October 11, 2010, 03:53:35 PM
Reply #6

Online CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2010, 03:53:35 PM »
Quote from: "BlaXun"
Skulltag is asking me for my doom directory...

Does it do this when you hit the test button?

About the sky thing, that's to do with the MAPINFO lump that goes along with the wad file. I'll have to explain about that another time, but if you have SLumpEd you can peer into the PK3 and look at the regular wad files to get an idea of how they work.

October 11, 2010, 03:54:27 PM
Reply #7

Offline BlaXun

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 10:08:30 AM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2010, 03:54:27 PM »
I'll give it a try.
And, yes, skulltag does this once I use the test button in Doom Builder2
I very much appreaciate your help.

October 11, 2010, 03:56:09 PM
Reply #8

Online CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2010, 03:56:09 PM »
Make sure you have the games resources bits set up exactly as I have. I haven't seen this error yet.

October 11, 2010, 04:08:57 PM
Reply #9

Offline BlaXun

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 10:08:30 AM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2010, 04:08:57 PM »
I have it setup the same way you did it...even when I try to start the skulltag.exe without build2 it asks me for my doom path

Edit: Starting the skulltag.exe from within doomseeker works fine :/

October 11, 2010, 04:20:02 PM
Reply #10

Offline Mr. X

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 07:05:48 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://mrxsrr.blogspot.com
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2010, 04:20:02 PM »
Quote from: "CutmanMike"
Make sure you have the games resources bits set up exactly as I have. I haven't seen this error yet.

I get the same error.
BTW, the stages are up:  http://www.mediafire.com/?jwj9o96uokmdwrf

October 11, 2010, 04:47:36 PM
Reply #11

Offline BlaXun

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 10:08:30 AM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2010, 04:47:36 PM »
Yay, I am not the only one.

So, I could load the map now...but not directly from within build2...well, even if I try to load is my error now is the missing texture sky1 ....which I never even used....

Okay, I just used the "ERRORS AND WARNINGS" option in build2...it gave me a long list of things:

(click to show/hide)

Edit: NVM! This list of erros is outdated as I dont get it again after clearing it

...still, I cant run maps due to this annoying error :(

Edit: Okay, I just tried to create a completely new map...but even with just one room with the DEFAULT textures I get the "missing texture sky1" bug upon trying to start the map

Edit:
I'm currently reinstalling build2 and all other stuff...will inform you if it worked :(

Edit: Reinstalled everything, created a 640*640 rooms and didnt touch the textures at all...when trying to load the map I still get the "MISSING TEXTURE SKY1" bug...now its up to you to help me...I cant get it to work :(

Edit: Even builder tells me that I dont use such a texture...all I use is one texture (for testing)

Edit: I'll have to give up for now.
I'd love to make some maps...but if I would start now and cant solve this problem later everything will be wasted :(

October 11, 2010, 07:09:45 PM
Reply #12

Offline Mr. X

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 07:05:48 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://mrxsrr.blogspot.com
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2010, 07:09:45 PM »
Quote from: "BlaXun"
Yay, I am not the only one.

Actually, I made these stages about 2 months ago for the demo.  I should be the one saying "I am not the only one." ;)

Oh, and sorry about the error.  I've never encountered it, so I can't help you.

October 11, 2010, 07:39:27 PM
Reply #13

Offline BlaXun

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 10:08:30 AM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2010, 07:39:27 PM »
Damn...I really want to start creating maps...but its no use if I cant even run them ._.

October 11, 2010, 09:43:19 PM
Reply #14

Online CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2010, 09:43:19 PM »
Wait, is it running but just giving that sky error? You should just ignore it.

For testing through doom builder, are you sure you did this step?



Try checking Customize Paremeters. If that doesn't work, try checking the Use short paths and filenames.