Advanced Search

Author Topic: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)  (Read 99451 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

October 11, 2010, 09:46:57 PM
Reply #15

Offline Mr. X

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 07:05:48 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://mrxsrr.blogspot.com
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2010, 09:46:57 PM »
Nope, it continues to tell me to point to my Doom 2 directory.

October 11, 2010, 09:54:25 PM
Reply #16

Online CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #16 on: October 11, 2010, 09:54:25 PM »
*BEARD SCRATCH* time to go over my steps and see if I can make it give me this error

October 11, 2010, 10:05:25 PM
Reply #17

Online CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #17 on: October 11, 2010, 10:05:25 PM »
Ok I can't do it.

Please browse to the following folder and post what's in your builder.cfg (open it with notepad)

C:Documents and SettingsWhateverLocal SettingsApplication DataDoom Builder

^whatever being your username is

It's pretty big so stick it in a spoiler

October 12, 2010, 12:02:39 AM
Reply #18

Offline TERRORsphere

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: August 22, 2009, 08:45:17 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/user/DoomThroughDoom
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #18 on: October 12, 2010, 12:02:39 AM »
Maybe make a copy of megagame.wad and rename it doom2.wad

October 12, 2010, 12:11:59 AM
Reply #19

Online CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #19 on: October 12, 2010, 12:11:59 AM »
You shouldn't need to do that. I didn't need to when went through

October 12, 2010, 12:18:11 AM
Reply #20

Offline Mr. X

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 07:05:48 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://mrxsrr.blogspot.com
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #20 on: October 12, 2010, 12:18:11 AM »
Quote from: "CutmanMike"
Ok I can't do it.

Please browse to the following folder and post what's in your builder.cfg (open it with notepad)

C:Documents and SettingsWhateverLocal SettingsApplication DataDoom Builder

^whatever being your username is

It's pretty big so stick it in a spoiler

I can't find that folder, I have Windows Vista.  Maybe that's the problem?

October 12, 2010, 12:27:24 AM
Reply #21

Online CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #21 on: October 12, 2010, 12:27:24 AM »
Hmm, out of curiosity where are Doom Builder 2 and MM8BDM installed?

October 12, 2010, 12:50:04 AM
Reply #22

Offline Mr. X

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 07:05:48 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://mrxsrr.blogspot.com
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #22 on: October 12, 2010, 12:50:04 AM »
MM8BDM is installed in a folder right on my desktop.  Doombuilder is in its own folder in programs.

October 12, 2010, 12:57:24 AM
Reply #23

Online CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #23 on: October 12, 2010, 12:57:24 AM »
Try moving all your mm8bm into a folder like C:/MM8BDM or something. I know some people have had problems with programs linking to their desktops/my documents folders in windows 7/vista. Don't forget to change the paths in game configurations when you do this.

October 12, 2010, 01:21:54 AM
Reply #24

Offline Mr. X

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 07:05:48 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://mrxsrr.blogspot.com
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #24 on: October 12, 2010, 01:21:54 AM »
Eh, I'll just test them by putting them in the skins folder.
So, how do we make CTF maps?  3 is a bit too few for my liking.

October 12, 2010, 01:43:05 AM
Reply #25

Anonymous

  • Guest
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #25 on: October 12, 2010, 01:43:05 AM »
Not completely new to Doom Builder, but far from familiar with it. One problem I have is that I don't see the Decorate dropdown where all of the weapons/etc. are stored. Maps in the pk3 package are the same way; Things there appear as an error (player spawns are fine, though). Is this a simple oversight I'm missing?

October 12, 2010, 02:10:35 AM
Reply #26

Offline Mr. X

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 07:05:48 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://mrxsrr.blogspot.com
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #26 on: October 12, 2010, 02:10:35 AM »
I had the same problem until I reinstalled Doombuilder, and I know somebody else did too.

October 12, 2010, 04:29:24 AM
Reply #27

Anonymous

  • Guest
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #27 on: October 12, 2010, 04:29:24 AM »
Looks like I was on an older version. Reinstalling did the trick though, thanks a lot! :D

October 12, 2010, 02:54:02 PM
Reply #28

Online CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #28 on: October 12, 2010, 02:54:02 PM »
I'd still like to figure out if Windows 7 is the problem for not being able to test maps, so if you get chance please try chucking MM8BDM into C: and trying it from there  :p

Quote from: "Mr. X"
Eh, I'll just test them by putting them in the skins folder.
So, how do we make CTF maps?  3 is a bit too few for my liking.

Okay you need to use the red and blue team starts (I recommend using about 18 each side) and the red and blue CTF flags (under the Flags dropdown). You should also use the white flag too, and stick it in the middle of the stage somewhere (in case people want to play one flag CTF). That's all there is to it. To test it, use offline skirmish and make sure the game mode is set to capture the flag.

Btw I completely agree, I lacked ideas for CTF layouts. If you make some cool ones I'll happily stick them in the main build if you want.

Also be very careful about what weapons you choose. Skull Barrier, Leaf Shield (unless fire/cut weapons are nearby), Proto Shield and Mirror Buster should be left out of the game completely if you ask me.

October 12, 2010, 04:21:20 PM
Reply #29

Offline Mr. X

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 07:05:48 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://mrxsrr.blogspot.com
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #29 on: October 12, 2010, 04:21:20 PM »
But I have Windows Vista, not windows 7.

Yeah, I'm thinking about having a factory with crushers similar to Dust Man's stage (I believe crushers are a sector action, correct?), conveyor belts, and (if I'm able to understand replicate the code well enough) gravity switching from Gravity Man's stage.