Advanced Search

Author Topic: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)  (Read 99452 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

October 12, 2010, 05:23:05 PM
Reply #30

Offline BlaXun

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 10:08:30 AM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #30 on: October 12, 2010, 05:23:05 PM »
I still cant test my maps.
I can use Build2 just fine...but trying to run the map fails :(
Damn...seriously...this is depressing :(

October 12, 2010, 05:58:20 PM
Reply #31

Offline CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #31 on: October 12, 2010, 05:58:20 PM »
Did you try what I posted earlier? Moving the MM8BDM files into somewhere in C:?

October 12, 2010, 06:59:47 PM
Reply #32

Offline BlaXun

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 10:08:30 AM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #32 on: October 12, 2010, 06:59:47 PM »
I dont have C: ....Linux messed up my system.

But still... :/
I allready could test maps some time ago before I setup build2 "correctly" ;)

Damn, I rly wanna contibute :(

October 12, 2010, 07:06:49 PM
Reply #33

Offline Mr. X

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 07:05:48 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://mrxsrr.blogspot.com
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #33 on: October 12, 2010, 07:06:49 PM »
Make a skins folder in the same folder that MM8BDM is in (if you haven't already) and copy and paste the stages you want to test in there.  It works.  Just remember to delete them before going online in case something bad happens.

October 12, 2010, 07:09:13 PM
Reply #34

Offline BlaXun

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 10:08:30 AM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #34 on: October 12, 2010, 07:09:13 PM »
Thats the way I try to laod the stages,.
I got my skin folder and can also find the maps with the console...but loading will give me an error about missing texture sky1

October 13, 2010, 12:53:23 AM
Reply #35

Offline squidgy617

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ***
  • Date Registered: February 26, 2010, 12:02:29 AM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #35 on: October 13, 2010, 12:53:23 AM »
I have the same problem as everyone else :/ I might try the C: thing but that sounds like more hassle than its worth. May just test in the skins folder.

If its any help, I believe I've had this problem when configuring Doomseeker in the past.

EDIT: Both files are just in my documents, if that helps.

EDIT: Copying megagame.wad and renaming it doom2.wad worked! I think I'm just gonna stick to that.

Still wanna know how to play maps ingame though.

EDIT: When will the next tutorial be out? I need help with textures :P

October 13, 2010, 02:01:42 AM
Reply #36

Offline Mr. X

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 07:05:48 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://mrxsrr.blogspot.com
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #36 on: October 13, 2010, 02:01:42 AM »
To play maps in game or on a server, you can host a server (regardless of internet connection) and under custom parameters, type -file stagenamehere.wad.

October 13, 2010, 09:18:07 AM
Reply #37

Offline CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #37 on: October 13, 2010, 09:18:07 AM »
Quote from: "squidgy617"
EDIT: Copying megagame.wad and renaming it doom2.wad worked! I think I'm just gonna stick to that

Interesting. I need to try this on a machine with no doom2 installed and see if I get this error.

October 13, 2010, 04:04:22 PM
Reply #38

Offline BlaXun

  • Standard Member
  • Date Registered: October 09, 2010, 10:08:30 AM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #38 on: October 13, 2010, 04:04:22 PM »
I did the same.
I made a copy of megagame.wad ad renamed it to doom2.wad ...and now I can FINALLY test maps *-*

October 13, 2010, 06:44:54 PM
Reply #39

Offline TERRORsphere

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: August 22, 2009, 08:45:17 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/user/DoomThroughDoom
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #39 on: October 13, 2010, 06:44:54 PM »
Hehe, I win.

October 13, 2010, 09:58:46 PM
Reply #40

Offline CutmanMike

  • Administrator

  • Is it hot in here or is it just zscript?
  • ******
  • Date Registered: December 17, 2008, 12:24:34 PM

    • View Profile
    • https://cutstuff.net
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #40 on: October 13, 2010, 09:58:46 PM »
Okay that explains it! It was somehow finding my doom2.wad and including it when it launched (even though I never specified Doom Builder 2 to do that, cheeky bugger).

Updating the tutorial ASAP to show you how to resolve this issue without renaming megagame.wad.

Edit: Done!

October 13, 2010, 10:22:35 PM
Reply #41

Offline Mr. X

  • MM8BDM Contributor
  • ****
  • Date Registered: July 09, 2010, 07:05:48 PM

    • View Profile
    • http://mrxsrr.blogspot.com
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #41 on: October 13, 2010, 10:22:35 PM »
Yep, it works now!  Makes my life easier.

October 15, 2010, 08:04:00 PM
Reply #42

Offline Rukifellth

  • MM8BDM Extender

  • Do check out my skins if you have the time.
  • *
  • Date Registered: September 27, 2010, 01:02:28 PM

    • View Profile
    • My skins:
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #42 on: October 15, 2010, 08:04:00 PM »
Do you need Doom2 to run Doom Builder 2?

October 15, 2010, 08:07:01 PM
Reply #43

Offline Korby

  • Global Moderator

  • Benvenuto nella room italiana!
  • ************
  • Date Registered: March 04, 2010, 03:36:02 AM

    • View Profile
    • Korby Games
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #43 on: October 15, 2010, 08:07:01 PM »
Do you need bread to make a sammich? No.
You do not need Doom 2 to run Doom Builder.

October 17, 2010, 10:13:32 PM
Reply #44

Offline CarThief

  • MM8BDM Extender
  • **
  • Date Registered: August 21, 2009, 10:31:00 PM

    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Getting started with Doom Builder 2 (making maps)
« Reply #44 on: October 17, 2010, 10:13:32 PM »
Hmm... At first when i tried making a map with these settings, for whatever reason, Doom Builder didnt load any of the DECORATE information at all.
I managed to fix it by making an Wad file and basically putting all of the decorate code in it without having it refer to the decorate in the pk3 file (i think DB2 simply has trouble finding decorate items when stuff like "#include "actors/inventory/megabuster.txt"" is used), and Doom Builder finnaly loaded all the weapons and items!

If this problem happens to other people maybe you could include the steps i did in the tutorial? I could even send the file i made. :P